This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information: verify here.

Who We Are

The NBDHMT is the long-established and respected certification organization for those who support the delivery of undersea medicine and hyperbaric oxygen therapy. The Board was introduced in 1985 and first called the National Association of Diver Medic Technicians. Its dual purpose was the formalization of DMT training standards and introduction of DMT certification. DMT training had first occurred in 1975 as a method to enhance on-site medical presence at geographically remote commercial oilfield installations. Previous efforts to incorporate training and certification into existing organization had been unsuccessful.

In 1991, the name was changed to reflect growing certification interest by hospital-based hyperbaric technicians and hyperbaric nurses. Certification in hyperbaric technology was introduced in that same year. Hyperbaric nursing certification became available in 1995. This was followed by certification in veterinary hyperbaric technology in 2011.

who we are

Board of Directors

Dick Clarke, CHT, President*
Keith Van Meter, MD, CHT*
Terrence E. Overland, CSP, CHT, DMT*

Richard Barry, BBA, CHT
Kevan Corson, CHT
Bill Gearhart, CHT, DMT, EMT, CRT, RCP,CFPS
Dennis Geiser, DVwM, DABVP
Debra Gonzalez, RN, ACHRN, CHT
Sean P. Hardy, MD, ACEP, UHM
Captain Bryan Miers, NREMT-P , DMT
Valerie Short, RN, ACHRN
W.T Workman, MS, CAsP, CHT

* Executive Committee  

Board Administrators

Britanny Gamble —


Association of Diving Contractors International
Baromedical Nurses Association
Divers Alert Network
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society